Return to Headlines

School Board special election November 2; early voting begins September 17

Wednesday, September 15, 2021
ALEXANDRIA, Minn. -- Two candidates – Jeff Patience and Maureen Eigen – are on the ballot for a special one-year term for the Alexandria School Board. The special election will take place November 2, with early voting beginning on September 17.

Vote early in person
Starting September 17 through November 1, you can vote early in person at the Woodland Elementary Building/District Office located at 1410 S McKay Ave during regular office hours of Monday-Thursday, 7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Friday 7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Vote early by mail
Request an absentee ballot by calling 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 or download and print an absentee application.  Once you have completed the application, return it to the address noted on the back. Once the application is received, an absentee ballot will be mailed to you with instructions. Mail your ballot back in the pre-paid, pre-addressed envelope that was provided with your ballot materials. Ballots must be received by November 2.

For further information about voting by absentee ballot, including procedures and qualifications, call the District Office at (320) 762-2141 ext. 4213 or email Maggie Timm, Election Clerk at

Vote day of primary election
The Special Election is Tuesday, November 2. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Your polling location may be different than the last time you voted. Visit or call 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 if you have questions about where to vote.

The list of polling locations for this election:
Precinct No. 1: City of Alexandria, Ward 1, Precincts 1 and 2
Voting location: Lake Community Church, 490 Voyager Drive, Alexandria

Precinct No. 2: City of Alexandria, Ward 2
Voting location: Reach Church (formerly known as Living Waters Church), 1310 North Nokomis, Alexandria

Precinct No. 3: City of Alexandria, Ward 3
Voting location: New Life Christian Church, 1910 County Road 82 SE, Alexandria

Precinct No. 4: City of Alexandria, Ward 4
*Voting location: The Church of St. Mary, 420 Irving St, Alexandria

Precinct No. 5: City of Alexandria, Ward 5, Precincts 1 and 2
Voting location: Alexandria City Hall, 704 Broadway, Alexandria

Precinct No. 6: LaGrand Township
Voting location: LaGrand Town Hall, 501 Town Hall Rd NW, Alexandria

Precinct No. 7: City of Garfield, Brandon Township, Ida Township, Leaf Valley Township, and Moe Township
Voting location: Ida Town Hall, 4700 County Road 6 NW, Garfield

Precinct No. 8: City of Miltona, Miltona Township, and Spruce Hill Township
Voting location: Miltona Community Center, 5590 County Road 14 NE, Miltona

Precinct No. 9: City of Carlos, Belle River Township, and Carlos Township
Voting location: Carlos Town Hall, 210 Victoria Ave, Carlos

Precinct No. 10: City of Nelson, Alexandria Township, and Osakis Township
Voting location: Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, 2702 Highway 29 N, Alexandria

Precinct No. 11: City of Forada and Hudson Township
Voting location: Forada City Fire Hall, 10991 Tobys Ave SE, Alexandria

Precinct No. 12: Holmes City Township, Lake Mary Township, and Reno Township (Pope County)
Voting location: Lake Mary Town Hall, 4791 County Rd 4 SW, Alexandria

*Represents change in polling location for Ward 4.

#  #  #

If you have additional questions, please contact Maggie Timm, Election Clerk, (320) 762-2141 ext. 4213, or email: