Special Election 2021

  • Notice of Special Election

    A special election will be held in and for Independent School District No. 206 (Alexandria Public Schools) on Tuesday, November 2, 2021 for the purpose of electing a school board member to fill the remaining one (1) year of a four-year term.

    Appointment to fill Board vacancy

    At a special meeting April 14, the Board appointed Jeff Patience to filll the vacancy created when member Bob Cunniff resigned, effective March 31. State statute requires that the vacancy be filled by school board appointment until a special election is held in the current year. 

    Notice of Filing Dates for Election to the School Board

    The period for filing Affidavits of Candidacy for the office of school board member on Independent School District No. 206 shall begin on May 18, 2021, and shall close at 5:00 p.m. on June 1, 2021. 

    Affidavits of Candidacy are available from the school district clerk, 1410 S. McKay Ave, Ste. 201, Alexandria, MN beginning May 18, 2021. The filing fee for this office is $2.

    School Board Election

    The filing period for the school board election closed on June 1st. Three candidates filed for the seat, position #5: Jeff Patience, Maureen Eigen and Jeremy Smith. With three candidates, a primary election will be held on Tuesday, August 10 and the two candidates with the most votes will be on the ballot for the November 2 special election.

    School Board Primary Election Results

    Jeff Patience and Maureen Eigen are the winners of the primary election that was held on Tuesday, August 10, 2021 and will be moving on to the special election on November 2, 2021.

Voting Information

  • The Special Election is Tuesday, November 2. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Your polling location may be different than the last time you voted. Visit mnvotes.org or call 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 if you have questions about where to vote.

    The list of polling locations for this election:

    Precinct No. 1: City of Alexandria, Ward 1, Precincts 1 and 2
    Voting location: Lake Community Church, 490 Voyager Drive, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 2: City of Alexandria, Ward 2
    Voting location: Reach Church (formerly known as Living Waters Church), 1310 North Nokomis, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 3: City of Alexandria, Ward 3
    Voting location: New Life Christian Church, 1910 County Road 82 SE, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 4: City of Alexandria, Ward 4
    *Voting location: The Church of St. Mary, 420 Irving St, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 5: City of Alexandria, Ward 5, Precincts 1 and 2
    Voting location: Alexandria City Hall, 704 Broadway, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 6: LaGrand Township
    Voting location: LaGrand Town Hall, 501 Town Hall Rd NW, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 7: City of Garfield, Brandon Township, Ida Township, Leaf Valley Township, and Moe Township
    Voting location: Ida Town Hall, 4700 County Road 6 NW, Garfield

    Precinct No. 8: City of Miltona, Miltona Township, and Spruce Hill Township
    Voting location: Miltona Community Center, 5590 County Road 14 NE, Miltona

    Precinct No. 9: City of Carlos, Belle River Township, and Carlos Township
    Voting location: Carlos Town Hall, 210 Victoria Ave, Carlos

    Precinct No. 10: City of Nelson, Alexandria Township, and Osakis Township
    Voting location: Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, 2702 Highway 29 N, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 11: City of Forada and Hudson Township
    Voting location: Forada City Fire Hall, 10991 Tobys Ave SE, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 12: Holmes City Township, Lake Mary Township, and Reno Township (Pope County)
    Voting location: Lake Mary Town Hall, 4791 County Rd 4 SW, Alexandria

    *Represents change in polling location for Ward 4.

    Vote Early in Person
    Starting September 17 through November 1, you can vote early in person at the Woodland Elementary Building/District Office, 1410 S McKay Ave.
    Hours: Monday-Thursday, 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Friday 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

    Vote Early by Mail
    Request an absentee ballot by calling 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 or download and print an absentee application. Once you have completed the application, return it to the address noted on the back. Once the application is received, an absentee ballot will be mailed to you with instructions. Mail your ballot back in the pre-paid, pre-addressed envelope that was provided with your ballot materials. Ballots must be received by November 2.

    For further information about voting by absentee ballot, including procedures and qualifications, call the District Office at (320) 762-2141 ext. 4213 or email Maggie Timm, Election Clerk at mtimm@alexschools.org.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Why is the School District administering their own election? Why is absentee voting taking place at the District Office?

  • Who can vote in this election?

  • On election day, my regular polling place won't be open. How do I know where I should vote?

  • Will there be an opportunity for observation of the ballot counting process?

  • Are 'mail in' ballots available? How are they secured?

  • Who counts the absentee ballots?

  • How are unused ballots stored? Who has access to them?

  • After a ballot is cast by a voter at the District Office, what happens to it? Where are they stored? Who has access to them?

  • Are any votes being tallied prior to the official election day? Or will ballots cast early only be tallied on Election Day?

Primary Election Results

  • Click here to view the Abstract of Votes Cast as prepared by Douglas County.

    Click here for election results as reported on the Minnesota Secretary of State's website.