Voting Information

  • Election Day is Tuesday, November 5. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Your polling location may be different than the last time you voted. Find your polling location by visiting the state of Minnesota pollfinder. The list of polling locations for this election:

    Precinct No. 1: City of Alexandria, Ward 1, Precincts 1 and 2
    Voting location: Lake Community Church, 490 Voyager Drive, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 2: City of Alexandria, Ward 2
    Voting location: Reach Church (formerly known as Living Waters Church), 1310 North Nokomis, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 3: City of Alexandria, Ward 3
    Voting location: New Life Christian Church, 1910 County Road 82 SE, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 4: City of Alexandria, Ward 4
    Voting location: Cornerstone Church, 202 7th Ave E, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 5: City of Alexandria, Ward 5, Precincts 1 and 2
    Voting location: Alexandria City Hall, 704 Broadway, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 6: LaGrand Township
    Voting location: LaGrand Town Hall, 501 Town Hall Rd NW, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 7: City of Garfield, Brandon Township, Ida Township, Leaf Valley Township, and Moe Township
    Voting location: Ida Town Hall, 4700 County Road 6 NW, Garfield

    Precinct No. 8: City of Miltona, Miltona Township, and Spruce Hill Township
    Voting location: Miltona Community Center, 5590 County Road 14 NE, Miltona

    Precinct No. 9: City of Carlos, Belle River Township, and Carlos Township
    Voting location: Carlos Town Hall, 210 Victoria Ave, Carlos

    Precinct No. 10: City of Nelson, Alexandria Township, and Osakis Township
    Voting location: Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, 2702 Highway 29 N, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 11: City of Forada and Hudson Township
    Voting location: Forada City Fire Hall, 10991 Tobys Ave SE, Alexandria

    Precinct No. 12: Holmes City Township, Lake Mary Township, and Reno Township (Pope County)
    Voting location: Lake Mary Town Hall, 4791 County Rd 4 SW, Alexandria

    Vote Early in Person
    Starting September 20, you can vote early in person at the Woodland Elementary Building/District Office, 1410 S McKay Ave.
    Hours: Monday-Friday, 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., September 20 - November 4

    Extended early voting hours at the Woodland Elementary Building/District Office will also be available on the following days:
    - Saturday, Sept 21, 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
    - Saturday, Sept 28, 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
    - Tuesday, Oct 29, 7:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
    - Thursday, Oct 31, 7:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
    - Monday, Nov 4, 7:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

    Vote Early by Mail
    Request an absentee ballot by calling 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 or download and print an absentee application. Once you have completed the application, return it to the address noted on the back. Once the application is received, an absentee ballot will be mailed to you with instructions. Mail your ballot back in the pre-paid, pre-addressed envelope that was provided with your ballot materials. Ballots must be received by Nov 4.

    For further information about voting by absentee ballot, including procedures and qualifications, call the District Office at (320) 762-2141 ext. 4213 or email Maggie Timm, Assistant to the Superintendent at

    Vote on Day of Special Election
    Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on November 5, 2019. Your polling location may be different than the last time you voted. Visit or call 320-762-2141 ext. 4213 if you have questions about where to 


    How do I register to vote?
    If you are a a resident of Alexandria Public Schools, you may register at the polls on November 5, at the same time you come to vote.

    You may also register at your county courthouse until three weeks before the election - until October 15 for our November 5 special election. After October 15, you should register to vote at the polls on November 5.

    You may download a copy of the voter registration form, fill it out, sign it, and mail it to your county courthouse in time for it to be received by October 15. Visit the Secretary of State website at



  • operating levy logo

Sample Ballot

Sample Ballot with Explanations